Tuesday, May 04, 2010

Tony Award Nominations: Who got snubbed?

"Who says the Tonys are a craven attempt to boost only the most popular performers and the most sold-out shows? This morning’s nominations are welcome sign of some independence. Fela! (whose producers include Jay-Z, Will Smith, and Jada Pinkett Smith) tied the acclaimed musical revival La Cage aux Folles with the most nominations, boasting 11 each. Director Kenny Leon’s much-loved revival of August Wilson’s Fences pulled in 10," writes Thom Geier. "But among the notable un-nominated are Broadway faves Nathan Lane and Bebe Neuwirth, passed over for their star turns in the much-reviled musical The Addams Family (which was left out of the Best Musical race as well). Frequent Tony host Hugh Jackman (and his well-Bonded costar Daniel Craig) were also absent from the Best Actor in a Play list despite the fact that their limited-run play A Steady Rain was a sold-out hit last fall." READ MORE

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play
Jude Law, “Hamlet”
Alfred Molina, “Red”
Liev Schreiber, “A View from the Bridge”
Christopher Walken, “A Behanding in Spokane”
Denzel Washington, “Fences”

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Play
Viola Davis, “Fences”
Valerie Harper, “Looped”
Linda Lavin, “Collected Stories”
Laura Linney, “Time Stands Still”
Jan Maxwell, “The Royal Family”

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical
Kelsey Grammer, “La Cage aux Folles”
Sean Hayes, “Promises, Promises”
Douglas Hodge, “La Cage aux Folles”
Chad Kimball, “Memphis”
Sahr Ngaujah, “Fela!”

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Musical
Kate Baldwin, “Finian’s Rainbow”
Montego Glover, “Memphis”
Christiane Noll, “Ragtime”
Sherie Rene Scott, “Everyday Rapture”
Catherine Zeta-Jones, “A Little Night Music”

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Play
David Alan Grier, “Race”
Stephen McKinley Henderson, “Fences”
Jon Michael Hill, “Superior Donuts”
Stephen Kunken, “Enron”
Eddie Redmayne, “Red”

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Play
Maria Dizzia, “In the Next Room or the Vibrator Play”
Rosemary Harris, “The Royal Family”
Jessica Hecht, “A View from the Bridge”
Scarlett Johansson, “A View from the Bridge”
Jan Maxwell, “Lend Me a Tenor”

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Musical
Kevin Chamberlin, “The Addams Family”
Robin De Jesús, “La Cage aux Folles”
Christopher Fitzgerald, “Finian’s Rainbow”
Levi Kreis, “Million Dollar Quartet”
Bobby Steggert, “Ragtime”

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Musical
Barbara Cook, “Sondheim on Sondheim”
Katie Finneran, “Promises, Promises”
Angela Lansbury, “A Little Night Music”
Karine Plantadit, “Come Fly Away”
Lillias White, “Fela!”

Best Play
“In the Next Room or the Vibrator Play”
“Next Fall”
“Time Stands Still”

Best Musical
“American Idiot”
“Million Dollar Quartet”

Best Book of a Musical
“Everyday Rapture” by Dick Scanlan and Sherie Rene Scott
“Fela!” by Jim Lewis & Bill T. Jones
“Memphis” by Joe DiPietro
“Million Dollar Quartet” by Colin Escott and Floyd Mutrux

Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre
“The Addams Family” Music & Lyrics: Andrew Lippa
“Enron” Music: Adam Cork Lyrics: Lucy Prebble
“Fences” Music: Branford Marsalis
“Memphis” Music: David Bryan Lyrics: Joe DiPietro, David Bryan

Best Revival of a Play
“Lend Me a Tenor”
“The Royal Family”
“A View from the Bridge”

Best Revival of a Musical
“Finian’s Rainbow”
“La Cage aux Folles”
“A Little Night Music”

Best Direction of a Play
Michael Grandage, “Red”
Sheryl Kaller, “Next Fall”
Kenny Leon, “Fences”
Gregory Mosher, “A View from the Bridge”

Best Direction of a Musical
Christopher Ashley, “Memphis”
Marcia Milgrom Dodge, “Ragtime”
Terry Johnson, “La Cage aux Folles”
Bill T. Jones, “Fela!”

Best Choreography
Rob Ashford, “Promises, Promises”
Bill T. Jones, “Fela!”
Lynne Page, “La Cage aux Folles”
Twyla Tharp, “Come Fly Away”

Best Orchestrations
Jason Carr, “La Cage aux Folles”
Aaron Johnson, “Fela!”
Jonathan Tunick, “Promises, Promises”
Daryl Waters & David Bryan, “Memphis”

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre
Alan Ayckbourn
Marian Seldes

Regional Theatre Tony Award
The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center, Waterford, Connecticut

Isabelle Stevenson Award
David Hyde Pierce

Tony Honor for Excellence in the Theatre
Alliance of Resident Theatres/New York
B.H. Barry
Tom Viola

See the full list of nominees here.